On this day in 1897, the Wachovia Historical Society held its first annual meeting. The meeting was held on the second floor of the Boys’ School.
Three members of the society presented papers, a practice that would become a custom for the society. The papers presented at the first meeting were: Mr. James T. Lineback’s paper, The Boys’ School; Dr. John H. Clewell’s paper, The Conch Shell Trumpet; and Mr. William Pfohl’s paper, Early Fire Regulations.
Annual meetings for the Wachovia Historical Society are still held, usually in October. The meetings begin with music, often related to the topic of the evening’s presentation. Officers are elected, and the president talks about events of the society for the previous year. There is a presentation, usually related to history of the Wachovia Tract. And, in the last few years, an individual is selected to receive the Archie K. Davis Award for their significant contributions to regional and cultural history.
The website for the Wachovia Historical Society is www.wachoviahistoricalsociety.org.
The photo shows the Salem Boys’ School on the corner of South Main and Academy Streets.
Photo courtesy of Molly Grogan Rawls.