An announcement was made on this day in 1927 that a two-story office building will be built on the northwest corner of Spruce and Fourth Streets. The plans were completed by Northup and O’Brien for William Neal Reynolds.
The new structure was to be made of reinforced concrete, faced with polished Mount Airy granite.
The northwest corner was previously occupied by Augsburg Lutheran Church. The church was relocated to West Fifth Street.
A long-time tenant in the new building was Bocock-Stroud Company. Bocock-Stroud Company carried a wide-range of goods, such as sporting goods; entertainment items, such as records and record players; and clothing. The store had a fabulous toy department that included dolls, trains, books and much more. It also had a camera department.
The above photo was taken at the Christmas parade in 1953, and shows the Bocock-Stroud building.
Photo courtesy of Forsyth County Public Library Photograph Collection.