Miksch Tobacco Shop at Old Salem was dedicated on this day in 1960.
The house was built by Matthew and Henrietta Miksch on South Main Street in 1771. It was the first house built in Salem for a single family, and consisted of two rooms and a foyer, until an addition enlarged the living and shop space.
The Miksch family supported themselves through several business ventures over the years. Brother Miksch processed and sold tobacco. The tobacco business grew, and the tobacco manufactory was built in the back of the house.
The house was later converted for use as a drugstore.
It was restored to its 1785 exterior look, and was dedicated in 1960 as a historic house for Old Salem.
In the photograph above, Mrs. John T. Motsinger is placing the figurine outside the house in 1960.
Photo courtesy of Forsyth County Public Library Photograph Collection.