The local newspaper advertised on November 1, 1923, that bids would be taken for the new grade school to be built in Hanes Park. The plans were already drawn and contractors had 30 days to submit their bids for the building that would occupy the old paper mill site.
Almost exactly two years to the day of the announcement, Calvin H. Wiley School was dedicated.
On this day in 1925, hundreds of people attended the dedicatory exercises at the school. Dr. E. C. Brooks, president of North Carolina State University, delivered the principal address.
The school opened to students in September 1925 and was named for Calvin H. Wiley, the first North Carolina Superintendent of Common Schools.
The building was designed by Charles Barton Keen, and a historical marker was placed at the school in 2013.
Photo courtesy of Forsyth County Public Library Photograph Collection.