On this day in 1940, Reynolds Park was dedicated to the “entertainment, health, and happiness of the people of Winston-Salem.” Residents admired the 18-hole golf course, swimming pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, stadium, amphitheater, and wooded areas for strolling and picnicking.
The park also featured a miniature train, a Ferris wheel, and a carousel. Land for the park was donated by Richard J. Reynolds Jr., Mary Reynolds Babcock, Nancy Reynolds Bagley, and William Neal Reynolds. They also provided the sponsors’ funds to obtain approval for the WPA project.
This large letter postcard highlighted many of the park’s features in the photos shown in the letters. Some of the places have changed in appearance over the years. Seventy-four years after it was dedicated, the park continues to be an entertainment venue on Reynolds Park Road.
Postcard courtesy of Molly Grogan Rawls.