Southside Park was the home of minor-league baseball in Winston-Salem from 1905 until the park burned in 1955.
After the fire, plans began for a new baseball park. Ernie Shore, former baseball pitcher and sheriff of Forsyth County, led the campaign for the new park.
Charles Babcock donated the land for the park, which was a naturally-shaped partial bowl.
The new baseball stadium was named for Ernie Shore, and the park opened in April 1956. The park was dedicated on this day in 1956.
The photos above show the field and the stands.
Ernie Shore Field is now used by Wake Forest University, and the name is changed to Gene Hooks Field.
In 2014, minor league baseball is played at BB&T Field, near Interstate 40 and Broad Street.
Photos courtesy of Molly Grogan Rawls.