On this day in 1957, the Fire House Museum was dedicated in Old Salem as the fourth exhibit building.
At the dedication of the Fire House Museum, interpreters demonstrated the early “fire engine” and the method of extinguishing fires by hand pumping the engine.
Today, the building is called the Market-Fire House because the building originally housed a central meat market that sold fresh meat. It was built in 1803.
Photo courtesy of Forsyth County Public Library Photograph Collection.