Stein’s Clothing opened their completely remodeled store on this day in 1940. It was located on the corner of West Fifth and Trade Streets. The store was part of Stein’s large group of 46 stores, owned by Samuel and Joseph Stein. The Stein brothers attended the store opening.
With the slogan, “America’s Greatest Clothiers,” Stein’s arranged a spectacular opening event. The entire store was wrapped with cellophane and a bow. The bow was cut, and the “package” was opened, and shoppers walked through the opening with the cellophane forming transparent curtains. It came as no surprise that Stein’s had a staff “stylist” from Hollywood on its payroll.
Photo courtesy of Forsyth County Public Library Photograph Collection.