Polo came to Winston-Salem officially in 1923. The Winston-Salem Polo club was organized with 13 members. Nine of the members are shown in the photo above. The members immediately secured the services of a polo expert from Pinehurst to instruct the members in the rules and intricacies of the game.
The polo expert brought 12 trained ponies, and a field was prepared with barns to house the ponies.
The first polo game was played on the new polo field on this day in 1924.
The polo field was located just beyond Reynolda, on what would one day be called Polo Road.
In its second season as a team, Winston-Salem played Fort Bragg, the leading team at that time.
Speas Elementary School was built on the site of the polo field.
Photos courtesy of Forsyth County Public Library Photograph Collection.