Hunter the History Hound is standing in front of Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Chapel on N. Cherry Street.
This was the location of the Carnegie Library that opened on February 14, 1906. This was the first public library in Winston-Salem, and it operated as a library until 1953, when the current library was built on W. Fifth Street.
Andrew Carnegie gave $15,000 to the city for the library, with the stipulation that the city had to spend 10% of this amount each year for the library, either on the building or on library materials. Andrew Carnegie gave money for thousands of libraries in the United States, with the same stipulation. Some of these Carnegie Libraries still serve their communities in the original buildings.
Watch this site for Hunter’s next adventure.
Photo by Molly Grogan Rawls.